Billy Frazer has won race 12 of the ITM NZ Formula Ford Championship at Hampton Downs. Frazer led home Kaleb Ngatoa by over 2.8-seconds across the line with Callum Crawley in third.

Frazer nailed the start off the line and got a break from the rest of the field early on. In the opening two laps, there was a great battle for third between Ngatoa, Crawley, and Zac Stichbury. On the third lap, Ngatoa was to break away to and set about trying to chase down Frazer in the lead.

This left Crawley, Stichbury and now James Penrose, back in his own car, to fight for the final podium spot. The battle was fierce right up until the penultimate lap when a series of small mistakes from Stichbury allowed Penrose to relegate the former to fifth before he spun going into the dipper. This left Crawley and Penrose to finish the race relatively uneventfully in third and fourth respectively.

Ronan Murphy inherited fifth place ahead of Ken Smith and Kim Crocker. Tony Graham and Martin Lucas finished in eighth and ninth whilst Stichbury rejoined to finish tenth after his spin. Nick Buxeda rounded out the field.