The New Zealand Formula Ford Championship is one of the country’s longest-running National motorsport championships. The class is officially recognised as a national championship by the sports governing body, MotorSport New Zealand.

Formula Ford is a cornerstone of driver development globally, recognised as the vital stepping stone for aspiring young drivers in the infancy of their careers. The New Zealand Formula Ford Championship has been contested since 1971 with the same basic concept of the class carrying through to this day.

A relatively basic spaceframe chassis and control tyre powered by a 1600cc Ford Kent engine along with tight regulations around suspension and transmission have seen close and competitive racing remain the backbone of the Formula.


Formula Ford has been developing the future stars of motorsport in New Zealand since the championships birth in the early 70’s.

Since then we’ve seen countless national champions crowned and many an international career forged. Indy 500 winner and 5x IndyCar Champ Scott Dixon, Supercars champ Shane van Gisbergen, former F1 driver & LeMans 24 winner Brendon Hartley, LeMans 24 winner Earl Bamber, Richie Stanaway, Mitch Evans, Liam Lawson, Marcus Armstrong and many more all raced NZ Formula Ford in the early phases of their careers.